One EcoChocoMintini!

Posted on 21 April 2011

0



At the risk of sounding too 360 Vodka oriented, I have yet another post on their flavors line.

After finding myself plus a bottle of the 360 Double Chocolate Vodka, I knew I would be unhappy if I didn’t at least experiment a little.  Now, chocolate martinis and I never seem to get along…the portions always elude me…so I knew I’d have to be extra careful on this one.  Also, in lieu of buying Creme de Cacao, I decided to go with heavy cream (a little unhealthy, I know) and I was surprised at the yielded results.

Before I get going on the martini (or cocktail for you gin Martini purists), I need to say a few words about this amazing vodka.  I’ve had the top dollars (Van Gogh, Godiva) and I found them quite yummy but this exceeds in the category (especially for its $17-25 price point!).  The name “double chocolate” comes from the use of both dark and white chocolates to craft the vodka.  It absolutely reeks of chocolate from the moment you pop the cap, tricks you into thinking it’s creamier than the liquid you see, and finishes with a lovely hint of warmth with, simply, chocolate!  It’s a little dangerous in the sense that you really can’t taste the alcohol, despite its typical vodka proof .  It’s overall just a great product!

Now…I had a little fun on this one and expanded on a recipe found on the 360 Vodka Website called the 360 Double Chocolate Milk.

The Lush’s EcoChocoMintini

2oz 360 Double Chocolate Vodka
1/4oz Agave Nectar
8 Mint Leaves
2oz Heavy Cream

In a shaker, muddle the mint leaves. Add ice, vodka, agave nectar and cream.  Shake, strain into a large cocktail glass and serve garnished with whipped cream (and/or mint leaves for color).

It’s creamy, it’s slightly minty (without being overpoweringly so), and the cream doesn’t thicken it up into a cement mixture.  It goes down easy and kicks you kind of like a White Russian (without all of those inevitable Lebowski references).

Posted in: Cocktails, Vodka